top of page
  • Writer's pictureWeezy

Call Me By Your Name: Backlash?

Quick Synopsis: Call Me By Your Name, starring Timothee Chalamet and Armie Hammer, follows the story of 17-year-old Elio, who is staying with his family in their Italian villa for the summer. He soon finds himself love-struck by 24-year-old Oliver, who moves in with them to study with Elio’s father.


Rating: 4.5/5


This movie is a work of art in and of itself. The way it's filmed is gorgeous, it is wonderfully directed, and the acting is impeccable. I was so lucky to visit Crema in Italy last summer, near where it was filmed. It's so beautiful :)


I especially admire the use of English, French, and Italian in the movie. I’ve never seen a movie that uses so many different languages interchangeably, and it was done so well. The character development in this film is so thorough. While watching it, I felt so connected to each character and I was able to really see through their perspective.


Call Me By Your Name has been getting a lot of backlash due to people glorifying the relationship between Elio and Oliver. As a bisexual teen, I completely stand by what other members/allies of the LGBTQ+ community have said; this relationship shouldn’t be used as a model for others and I understand that it can be viewed as morally wrong or predatory. I mean, if it had been a heterosexual relationship, I doubt that it would have gotten as much positive attention as it did. I'm so happy to finally see society having more of these conversations.


However, I feel like the age difference is a notable part of the storyline. I think the age gap is intentional, to signify that this is so new and unknown to both of them. Their relationship shouldn't be praised whatsoever, but I do think the point of the movie was not to make another "cute couple." I don't think it's even meant to leave a positive or negative effect on the viewer.


I do think this movie was done wonderfully, despite some of the backlash that it has gotten. I recommend watching it, if not for the plot itself, then for the acting and amazing cinematography. This movie is not one you should skip :)


Xo, Weezy


Below are some photos of my trip to Crema. It was such a sweet, adorable town!





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Are You a Non-Dancer Like Me??

Last week I had a dance audition for my school musical; the first one I’ve had in over a year! And, I’ll just put it this way: for me, dancing is NOT like riding a bike. I have to admit, dance hasn’t

bottom of page