top of page
  • Writer's pictureWeezy

Confidence in the Audition Room

Updated: Feb 24, 2021

I've loved performing for as long as I can remember. As a little kid, I put on shows for my family all the time! From dancing around to "Ring of Fire" by Johnny Cash 24/7 to creating my own renditions of Mary Poppins and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, I never failed to come up with new ways of entertaining my two sisters, parents, and even my stuffed animals.

However, once I started 7th grade, my confidence severely plummeted. I still loved playing roles onstage and singing my heart out, but I refused to share my passion with any of my friends and family. It's totally fine to not want to randomly sing in front of your parents! Honestly, I'm still pretty embarrassed and rarely do so :) but soon my self-consciousness led to fears of speaking up in groups, raising my hand in class, and, worst of all, being totally awkward in auditions, which was an absolute deal-breaker.

I'm not going to lie: auditioning is 100% my biggest fear about this industry. The idea of going into a room filled with strangers and basically playing make believe while still wanting to leave a strong first impression is pretty frightening. It's really hard to walk into that audition without feeling an ounce of fear in your body, and even with all the experience in the world you might still feel nervous. But, acknowledging your fears are the first step to achieving your fullest audition potential.

Once you've accepted the nerves, remind yourself that you're an actor, so fake it till you make it! Well, kind of... Tricking yourself into being confident can be a good place to start, but afterwards it's going to take a little more effort. Usually, the casting director will try making conversation with you while you set yourself up to begin. This is your perfect opportunity to level the playing field. Put yourself on the same level as whoever else is in the room, because you are no lesser than anybody else there. Of course don't be arrogant or rude, but, for example, if they ask where you're from, you can answer and then ask them too! This way, you're having a simple conversation while coming to terms with the fact that the casting director is a human being, just like you. They'll also be more intrigued! Just remember, without you (the actor) the casting directors are doomed! No actor = no show.

Auditioning is still a skill I'm trying to master myself, but not every audition is going to go perfectly, because nothing is perfect. If you truly can't go on because you messed up or forgot a line, don't beat yourself up about it! Simply say, "I'd like to start again, please." You don't even have to phrase it in the form of a question. More often than not, the casting director will say yes, or have you pick up from where you left off. A little disclaimer though! -> be aware that this tactic is more often used in film than theater auditions, because in film you can do many takes that are edited together, while onstage you only get one shot.

The biggest piece of advice I can give about becoming confident in auditions is through experience. I implore you to go to as many auditions as you can (in person or through Zoom!), because this really is the way to become comfortable with this seemingly scary process.

These tips certainly don't work for every single person, because everyone is different, but I can confidently say that I am much more self-aware and comfortable when I go to auditions thanks to these helpful hints :)

Xo, Weezy

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page