top of page
  • Writer's pictureWeezy

Six! The Musical

I was so lucky to see this musical in February, right before quarantine started. After hearing the soundtrack for the first time, I had it on repeat for months and begged my parents to take me to see it on Broadway. My best friend had heard some of the songs on Tik Tok *eye roll* and she loved the songs just as much as I did! She ended up surprising me with two tickets to see the show together!! It was definitely a night I'll never forget.


Quick synopsis: Six The Musical tells the story of Henry VIII's 6 wives in a fun and modern way, showcased in a concert style. Each of the wives sings a song explaining why she suffered the most, and should therefore be the lead singer of the group. This show really focuses on empowerment, and how we should bring each other up instead of down.


Cast I saw:

Catherine of Aragon -- Adrianna Hicks

Anne Boleyn -- Andrea Macasaet

Jane Seymour -- Mallory Maedke

Anna of Cleves - -Brittney Mack

Katherine Howard -- Samantha Pauly

Catherine Parr - -Anna Uzele


I stagedoored and met the entire cast afterwards (even the band!!) They were so sweet and signed my Playbill :)


Favorite song: Get Down


Rating: 4/5


This show has had so much controversy. So many people I know have said things like "They're copying Hamilton" or "This show isn't fit for a Broadway stage."


Let's clear this up: Six is nothing like Hamilton (besides the fact that they're both awesome!). They sound similar on paper; they both use modern-sounding music to tell a story based on history. But onstage they have very little in common. Six is way more interactive and designed like a concert. The queens talk to the audience and the band (which is onstage with them) throughout the entirety of the show. Hamilton, on the other hand, is set up like a lot of other shows traditionally are, and only breaks the fourth wall occasionally.


When people try to say that the show shouldn't be on Broadway, I totally understand their arguments. The music does sound more like pop songs and the structure is nothing like a traditional Broadway show. However, people often forget that, just like everything else, theater is constantly changing. One reason I (and I think many others) love theater so much is because it gives performers the opportunity to experiment with different ideas. We are able to express ourselves and our art in new ways that have never been seen before. Without change and growth, it will always stay the same and eventually become boring.


I think Six was definitely a big change from theater norms, but overall, it was executed in a way that is innovative and new. When I saw it, the show's high energy didn't drop for a second, and seeing the songs I knew so well be performed onstage was a whole experience of its own. I had created so many images in my head of what it might be like, but this was even better than I imagined. For example, I wasn't a huge fan of the song "Haus of Holbein" when I heard it on the album, but it was one of my favorites to watch!


It's heartbreaking that Broadway is closed because of Covid-19, so in the meantime I definitely recommend giving the soundtrack a listen!


Xo, Weezy

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Guest Writer: Kyle J's take on The West Side Story Revival

Kyle is an actor-screenwriter who is spending time busking with his guitar throughout the duration of the pandemic. His favorite show is Fiddler On The Roof and he has experience in musical theater an

bottom of page