top of page
  • Writer's pictureWeezy

"The End of the F***ing World"

Quick Synopsis: 17-year-old James (Alex Lawther), who thinks he’s a psychopath, and Alyssa (Jessica Barden), an angry classmate, meet at school. They make a connection and decide to take a road trip together to find Alyssa's father.


Rating: 5/5

Favorite quote: “Why do you live in such a weird house?” - Alyssa, S1 E1


(NO spoilers ahead; this is just a general review to convince you to watch this masterpiece!)


This is one of my most favorite shows, yet none of my friends watch it. The End of the F***ing World is so different from any TV show I’ve seen before, from the music choice to the characters. I recommend watching this 1000%. What makes this show so memorable to me is the way it is filmed. Every single shot is so unique and artistic; you never see the same choice twice. The filming is done with purpose. When watching, you can't help but think about how every little detail was included with intention.


The show is especially appealing because it is impossible to choose if you prefer James or Alyssa. Let me explain. My sister and I watched this show together, and afterwards, I would ask “Who do you like more: James or Alyssa?” At the start, James is a little disturbing because he thinks he’s a psychopath and wants to kill someone. However, viewers soon find him to be one of the sweetest characters on TV. Alyssa, on the other hand, appears rough around the edges with a “don’t mess with me” personality. This nature definitely does not disappear, but later in the series she opens up more. Both of the characters are so different, yet create this perfect balance towards one another.


The reason I gave this show a 4/5 instead of a 5/5 is because of the second season. Season 1 is based on The End of the F***ing World mini-comics, but season 2 was designed for the show. I was truly disappointed by this season. So many times, a new movie or the first season of a TV show are such a huge success that creators feel the need to make sequels and new seasons. Sure, everyone wants to see their favorite characters, in this case James and Alyssa, go on more adventures together and develop their relationships further. Honestly, I was ecstatic when I heard there would be a second season! However, these new works are rarely successful. I get frustrated because the creators just don’t know when to leave it at its peak. This doesn’t just go for The End of the F***ing World; it happens far too often.


The reason I was so unsettled by season 2 is because of how eerie it was. The show is supposed to be somewhat creepy, but introducing Bonnie in season 2 didn’t sit well with me. They also expanded upon the story of Clive Koch, the extreme predator who James and Alyssa encountered in the first season. I feel like giving an abominable character like Clive a backstory severely takes away from the first season. He is supposed to be someone who comes from out-of-the-blue, without need to dig in further. Adding Bonnie into the mix just makes it into a show that isn’t true to the original comics. I’ve seen many reviews that believe it does stick to a similar vibe, but I have to disagree. The show is not meant to be spooky! But the new storylines they add make it so.


Before I accidentally spoil the whole show for you, I’m going to stop myself there. I know this was a very broad review, but I wanted to give you an overview about my thoughts on the series. I urge you - stop reading this and go watch the first season! Episodes are about 20 minutes each and there are only 8 of them, so it’s a relatively quick binge. Personally, season 2 somewhat ruined the first season for me, but if you’re feeling up for it totally watch. I made my case about my dislike for season 2, but season 1 of The End of the F***ing World is one of the best seasons of any show I have ever seen. You will not be disappointed ;)


Xo, Weezy


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Are You a Non-Dancer Like Me??

Last week I had a dance audition for my school musical; the first one I’ve had in over a year! And, I’ll just put it this way: for me, dancing is NOT like riding a bike. I have to admit, dance hasn’t

bottom of page