top of page
  • Writer's pictureWeezy

All about self-tapes!

A self-tape is an audition that actors film of themselves remotely (requested by a casting director), which they send in electronically.


I made my first self-tape today! I'd taken audition videos of myself doing a monologue, but this was my first time doing a scene given by the casting director. I usually get super nervous when I act, especially around people I know, so I wasn't initially looking forward to this process. But once I got started, it was much simpler than I thought it would be. You can have so much fun with a self-tape, and you can be as creative as you want!


Things to keep in mind


Get as much context on your character as you can. Read the script if you have access to it. If not, study and analyze the scene so that you can better connect with your character. You might be on a time crunch, but this doesn't have to take long and will benefit you when you film. Of course, memorize your lines too!


When you start filming, film as many times as you need until you love it. It might be boring to take the video over and over again, but it's good practice for lines and you'll feel extra confident by the end.


Also - don't forget to slate! Sounds pretty obvious, but I almost forgot :) Your slate is a really short introduction, and goes before your actual audition tape. I included my name, age, and who I was auditioning for, but you can include your height.


The importance of your reader


I personally think having a good reader is very beneficial, especially when you're first starting out. Eventually, you'll want to be able to act your best with anyone, no matter what their voice sounds like! However, we can work our way up to that...


I filmed my tape a few different times, with different people. My sister and my friend both read for me, and it was fun seeing their opinions when it came to filming. I think it's crucial that your reader goes at a good pace and reads the lines naturally. You don't want them to go too fast or slow, because depending on the speed, it can seem rushed or boring. They should also read naturally without under/overacting. It's difficult to act when your scene partner is totally monotone, but at the same time you don't want to be overshadowed ;)


A few technical things


I 1000% recommend investing in a tripod if you don't already have one. It's so much easier than stacking up tons of books to prop your phone on!! Your reader will also be hands-free so they can focus on the script.


A ring light is very useful for good lighting. Don't use it as your main light source, but after positioning your camera/phone in a room with good natural light, the ring light can add to the effect to make it stronger and clearer.


Creative choices


Suggestions for what to wear are similar to one of my previous articles about headshots. Read "Professional Headshot?" for specifics to remember. However, you can definitely get more creative than you would in a headshot. Acknowledge the time period in which the piece you're auditioning for took place and who your character is. Would somebody wear a leather jacket in the 1700s? Probably not unless they have a time machine. Make sure your clothing isn't too distracting or crazy, but it can definitely be in character.


Like I've been saying, you can be as creative (or not) as you'd like in your tape. It's all up to you. For example, if your scene is happening in a car, feel free to film it in the car! If it says that a certain song on the radio is playing, you can have it on in the background. As long as you can be seen and heard (since you are the main focus), do whatever you want. If you don't want to go all out, that's fine too. Filming against a blank wall is totally acceptable (and sometimes preferred by casting directors). Just remember - casting directors are all different. Some will love the idea of filming your tape as though it were a real scene; others prefer a plain background. So really do what you want, because you can't predict what they want. Showcase your true self!


Xo, Weezy

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page